merging my pictures and cards

1987 Topps – Juan Pierre

This card has a special meaning to me for a couple of reasons. One it is a cool 1987 Topps. I don’t already have a monster box full of these things so I need some more. I may have more of these than any other card. For some reason though I still like the card.

The other reason is what is on the card. Last Labor Day I was in Detroit to see the White Sox take on the Tigers. I was at a game that appeared to be over at one point. Brandon Inge hit what appeared to be the game winning home run off of Chris Sale. Live I thought it was foul, and made my opinion known to the Tiger fans around me. We had moved up into some very good seats, and the people around us did not care for the Sox fans who sat down. When the call was overturned and the home run taken away I felt a little better. Sale struck out Inge to end the inning, and the Sox scored in the top of the 10th to take the lead. The picture on this card is of Juan Pierre making the final out of the game with a nice running catch. That is important because it is the first win of young Chris Sale’s big league career. I have the Tiger lineup and a ball from the game. What means the most to me though are some of the pictures I took that day. This is one that I really liked. I got lucky, and captured the ball right as it entered Juan’s mitt.

Leave a Reply

