merging my pictures and cards

1986 Topps – Gary Carter Tribute (1975-1978)

This morning I woke up to hear the news that Gary Carter had passed. As a kid that grew up in the 80’s and followed catchers Gary was a fun player to watch. Sometimes I didn’t give him the credit he deserved because that would have taken some away from my favorite player Carlton Fisk. I practiced all of the catcher drills that Gary showed me on a Mickey Mantle instructional video as a kid. The only problem was that I was left handed and would never play catcher. I was sad to hear of his passing so I thought that I could start a tribute set for Gary much like the one that I created for Carlton a few months ago.

The basic premised of this set is easy. I am copying the 1986 Topps set that honored Pete Rose. This starts out much like Fisk’s did. You have the multiple player rookie card followed by a trophy card for being on the Topps All Star Rookie Team. I actually own that 1976 Topps card. I don’t know how far I will take this new venture, but I am sure that I will get into the Mets years with Gary. This is the second time that I have been able to place an Expos card on the site. I am sure that a couple more will be made shortly for Gary as time allows.

You don’t see too many players who play the game the right way and have fun doing it anymore. It is sad to see Gary go, but we will always have the memories. So long Kid.

Leave a Reply

