merging my pictures and cards

1987 Donruss – John Smoltz

Today I heard that the new card set by Topps was out. Of course I don’t actually collect cards anymore. At least not real cards. I just make fake cards using my pictures. As a child the set that really has always stuck in my mind as one that was hard to get was the 1987 Donruss set. I had a factory set of Fleer early in the year, and you could by a pack of Topps anywhere it seems like. I bought a lot of them too. Donruss though seemed to be very hard to get. My father bought me many packs to try and complete the set. We had a lot of fun putting the set together which we eventually did. For that reason this set will always have a special place for me.

I took this picture of John in 2009 on my birthday. What better present could I get than watching a great pitcher having a good game. This is the 4th time that I have posted an ’87 Donruss card. With this being the 25th anniversary of the set I am sure that a few more will pop up on here over the course of the summer. This is also the 45th time that I have posted a St. Louis Cardinals card. For some reason this is only the 2nd time that a John Smoltz card has made it onto the site. That may have to change.

Leave a Reply

