merging my pictures and cards

1987 Topps – Mark Buehrle

The hardest news of the off season was that Mark Buehrle would not be coming back to the White Sox next year. Early on you knew that it was the case, but you kept thinking that maybe another ‘all in’ miracle would happen like last year. It did not, and Mark went to play with Ozzie in Florida. I quit watching baseball after the strike in ’94. When I came back to the game Mark was a young pitcher for the White Sox. His love of the game quickly made him a favorite of mine. He is now on another team, but I think that he will forever be remembered as a member of the White Sox. Will he end up bronzed in the outfield? I struggle with that question. If he is I will be there though.

This is the 18th card that Mark has appeared on for this blog. I usually buy my tickets way ahead of time for games, but for some reason I usually seemed to see Mark pitch. The pictures were plentiful so this might not be the last time a Buehrle card in a Sox uniform appears on this site. This is the 47th time that a 1987 Topps clone has appeared on this site. For some reason I love that old set so the cards have come easy from it.

2 responses

  1. Huge fan of ’87 Topps… I was fortunate enough to get to exactly one game when I was in Chicago… Buehrle’s perfect game!

    January 21, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    • I guess that if you get to one game that would be a great one to be at!

      January 22, 2012 at 10:39 am

Leave a Reply

