merging my pictures and cards

1993 Donruss – Ozzie Guillen

This is kind of a weird card for me to make for two reasons. One of those is that Ozzie was in this set as a player. I usually don’t make cards like this, but I felt the need to make the card. The second reason is that Ozzie is no longer the manager of the Chicago White Sox. Ozzie came in and took the Sox to the next level. He won the World Series in just his second year at the helm of the team. He has never been able to re-create that success though, and that might be a partial reason as to why he was fired. As a Sox fan I am torn today. I realize that something had to happen. That being said I am excited to see how the Sox will go from here. Of course I am also sad to see the skipper go.

I chose this picture for the card because it reminded me of the good times with Ozzie at the helm. I was lucky enough to get the day off to attend the Sox victory parade in 2005. I didn’t have a camera with a burst function so I had to pick my moments. I have always liked this picture of Ozzie so I guess that I lucked out. I wish that the Sox would win again so that I could take my new camera to the parade. Of course this picture would be of the new manager whomever that may be. Let the new era of Sox baseball begin!

2 responses

  1. I was reviewing my preseason picks today and noticed that I had the White Sox winning it all. Too bad. I think if their bullpen had held up early, things might have really turned out differently. Chris Sale quietly had a monster second half in the pen among other things.

    September 29, 2011 at 8:52 pm

  2. That is a neat picture, by the way!

    September 29, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Leave a Reply

