merging my pictures and cards

1984 Topps – Ralph Bolden

I thought that I would post a couple football cards on this last Sunday without football. I wanted to try and replicate the ’84 Topps set. Earlier on this site I just altered an existing card to save some time. The design is simple enough that I thought it wouldn’t take too much to do. The hardest part for me though was how to make the card a template that I could use to make other cards. Once I figures that out it was easy to make. Easy that is except for coming up with the Boilers colors. Black and Gold would be used, but where and what shades? I also was struggling with what color to use for the nameplate on the card. In ’84 that plate color had nothing to do with the team colors. Starting from scratch was a challenge, but I like the results. I am sure that a few more of these will show up throughout the season.

I used a picture that I took yesterday against Middle Tennessee State for this card. Ralph was fighting for some extra yards and spinning to get out of a tackle when I hit the shutter. The overall picture was not the best, but on a card I really like how it looks. I thought that it was a good tribute for a player that had a very solid game in intense heat coming back from knee surgery.

Leave a Reply

