merging my pictures and cards

1939 Play Ball – George Gick

Over the next few days I will be moving to West Lafayette from Northern Indiana. I don’t know when I will have internet again so this may be my last card for a few days. I wanted to post this card of George because his story is a new one to me. I ran into his daughter while working here in town and saw the above picture hanging on her wall. I recognized the uniform immediately and inquired about it. She said that it was her father and that he played for the White Sox in the 30’s.

It turns out that he did indeed come in as a reliever for two games with the Sox. He never gave up a run, and looked to have a promising career ahead of him. He pitched at the end of 1937, and again early in 1938. He was sent down to the minors to refine his form when he injured himself never to return. The arm injury is something that can be overcome now, but in 1938 it meant the end. He returned to farming knowing that he realized his dream of playing in the Majors. I thought that I would give him this Play Ball card that he could have had if his arm had held out. In keeping with my unwritten rule I took a picture of the photograph so that it is my picture on the card.

2 responses

  1. Michael Gick

    George was my great uncle, thanks for posting this.

    August 20, 2011 at 7:38 am

  2. Joan Gick

    George was my uncle and I have lots of fond memories of him. Thank you for posting your information.

    May 18, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Leave a Reply

