merging my pictures and cards

2011 csd All Star Glossy – Derek Jeter

Over the last few days nobody has dominated the national scene over his not being at the All Star game like Derek Jeter has. Maybe part of the reason is the fact that he is getting a $500,000 bonus for making the All Star game, but he cannot even show up to tip his cap. I am divided on the issue. I know that he was recently injured and then had a milestone that he just reached. He deserves some time off. On the other hand I found out how much he was making for being named to the team, and I started to change my mind. What does it say about the athletes of today when $500,000 isn’t even enough to show up for the All Star game? I think this year’s no shows will prompt a change much like the tie in 2002 did. We will see over time though.

I took the picture for this card last August as Derek was fielding a throw from catcher Francisco Cervelli. The throw was way off line so Derek had to do some dancing to field it. While the play was bad for the Yankees it allowed me to get a couple of cool shots of Jeter.

Leave a Reply

