merging my pictures and cards

1975 Topps – Lucas Harrell

I have been wanting to try and clone the ’75 Topps card for a while now. I made a couple Cardinals cards early on in my card making days, but I just used an actual card and cut out the center for my picture. I wanted to make a template that I could use and change up. The hardest part for me was how to make the multi color border while keeping the ability to change colors. The ’75 Topps set had many different colors so I wanted to be able to re-create some of those cards. I found a way to do it this morning while playing around so I now have a ’75 Topps template. The team name was troubling me until I found a very simple solution. I just took the name and cloned it. Then I changed it’s color to black before moving it down and to the right slightly. This created the shadow effect I was looking for. I like the few cards I made with this new template so I will try and get some of them out sooner rather than later.

I wanted to make another card of Lucas Harrell since he is no longer with the Sox. He was claimed by the Houston Astros so he will probably have a shot at the Major League level right away. I became a fan of Lucas after watching him sign many autographs on a day near 100 degrees last summer. He had just completed a tough workout on the field in Indy on a day with temperatures near 100 degrees. After it was over he signed until the line was gone. He was the only member of the Charlotte Knights still on the field. I love it when a player shows the fans some love. When they do it when to leave would be very easy makes them even more endearing.

I took the picture for this card earlier this season as Lucas was warming up Juan Pierre in left field during a game against the Mariners. I took a couple pictures because I did not know how many chances I would have to get a picture of Lucas in a Sox uniform. I am glad that I did now.

Leave a Reply

