merging my pictures and cards

1985 Topps Famous Lineage – Tony Pena Jr.

I can’t explain why, but I really enjoyed collecting and watching Tony Pena play as a kid. I guess I followed a few catchers, but Tony was right up there. Part of the fun of seeing the Pawtucket Red Sox play on Saturday was the fact that I could watch Tony’s son play. I never did get to see him get into the game, but he did catch in the bullpen for the relievers. What makes this odd (at least to me) is that Tony is a reliever himself. I guess he just has catching in the blood. I love this set, and I am glad that I could get the Pena’s in it. I also found it cool that Tony Jr.’s team was playing the Triple A affiliate of the team (the Pirates) that I picture his dad on. Tony Sr. also played for Boston. I was tempted to have them both in the same colors, but went with this look instead.

The main picture on the card was one of the few that I could snap from my seat that looked the most like a head shot. I have had to improvise on a few cards in this set, but I think this picture looks alright. I chose the ’84 Donruss card of Tony Sr.  for the card because for some reason that is the one that I thought of right away. That is probably one of my favorite cards of Tony. I know that putting a Donruss on a Topps card would never happen, but I am making these cards so the rules are mine to bend. This is one of my favorite cards in the set so far.

Leave a Reply

