merging my pictures and cards

2011 csd All Star Glossy – Yazy Arbelo

I sat down and tried to come up with a cool design for my all star cards this season. Last year I just stole from the ’76, ’85, and ’86 Topps all star designs. I was determined to make a design that was my own. What happened was that I came up with a couple designs that I really want to keep for future custom cards. I stumbled across some all star glossy cards from the 80’s, and knew that I had stumbled across something. Instead of coming up with a new card I could just put out a glossy set. I used one of those cards for a template, and put the ’11 All Star logo on the bottom with the new date at the top. I really liked how these turned out. I would like to make more of these for the Midwest League as well as making them for the American Association and the MLB All Star game. This little sub set could grow to be fairly large before I am done.

Since it is Minor League Monday I thought that debuting this card today was only right. I decided that putting the Yazy card out there was a great way to do it. I have six of these made, but I would like to slowly put them out. I took this picture as Yazy was batting against the West Michigan Whitecaps earlier this season. Just coming into the frame is another All Star catcher Rob Brantly’s glove. This is a simple design that has really held up great over the years.

2 responses

  1. JT

    Love it…these were some of my favorite cards every year. I thought about throwing some together for the Reds’ All-Stars this year.

    June 13, 2011 at 10:10 pm

  2. Carmen

    I love it. I like the colors and the logo. Are you going to have these out there. Would like one myself.

    June 14, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Leave a Reply

