merging my pictures and cards

1983 Topps – Paul Konerko/Carlton Fisk

Watching the Sox game tonight I saw Paul Konerko hit a home run over the Green Monster to give the White Sox a 3-1 lead over the Red Sox. The home run was important because it was the 376th of Paulie’s career. That tied him with Carlton Fisk for 66th all time. This is important to me because two of my favorite players of all time are now linked for what I hope is a very short period. The event inspired me to make my first card in quite some time. I thought that I would post it right away so that others could enjoy it. I posted the card as a 1983 Topps because I just basically tweaked my ’83 Topps Super Veteran template to make the card.

I took the picture of Carlton last August when he was back in town for Frank Thomas day. I had an idea to have the players facing each other thinking it would add to the card. Luckily I was able to find a picture of each player just the way I wanted them. The picture of Paulie was taken on Opening Day of this year as he was taking batting practice. It was seeing this picture that gave me the idea to have them facing.

As I said these are two of my favorite players of all time. Putting them on the same card should have happened a while ago, but it has finally happened. I may have to make a card with both of these guys on it for my 2011 custom set.

2 responses

  1. JT

    I like it. The Super Veterans style suits it well.

    May 30, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    • Thanks. I had fun making it.

      May 30, 2011 at 10:21 pm

Leave a Reply

