merging my pictures and cards

2011 csd Custom – Kirk Gibson

Growing up in the 80’s when I did I had plenty of reasons to like Kirk as a player. He was a big part of the ’84 World Series team in Detroit, but he is probably best known for his dramatic game winning home run in 1998 for the Dodgers. He could barely walk, but came in and hit a home run. His run around the bases is still ingrained in my mind. This is another of the three cards I made while experimenting with the design of the card. Instead of going back and fixing my error I just went with the card. It is the weekend after all.

I took this picture in early April as Kirk was signing for some fans before a weekday game against the Cubs. It is still weird to see him without his moustache, but I recognized him just the same. As with all the coaches I picked a retro card for them. I picked the ’89 Upper Deck highlights card of Kirk because it pictured his biggest moment.

Leave a Reply

