merging my pictures and cards

2011 csd – Jackie Robinson

This is the first card in the regular issue set to be released. What card would be better to kick off the set today than a card of Jackie Robinson. Since my cards are made with my own pictures it would be impossible to get one of Jackie since he died before he was born. He is so important to baseball though that I wanted to get him in this set. Today across the country he will be honored at every ballpark. Major League Baseball has done a great job of honoring him every year, and this year toook it a step further by starting up the website iam42.com that enables past baseball greats, present players, and everyday Joe’s to share their Jackie Robinson memories.

Since I don’t have a picture of Jackie or a statue of him I decided to use one of the many ways that he is honored across the thirty Major League Ballparks. Detroit does a great job of honoring their greats. They also have this great mural to Jackie in right-centerfield. I thought that it looked great on the card, and made a perfect tribute card.

I know that it is not a big deal, but to honor Jackie this will be the only card featured on the blog today. This is his day as it should be. I really wanted to get some pictures of the Sox players wearing #42 tonight, but the rain may have scared me away from the park. That would be a great subset.

One response

  1. daniel paniagua

    yo tengo esa carta y la quiro vender

    July 12, 2011 at 8:18 pm

Leave a Reply

