merging my pictures and cards

2011 csd Preview – Brett Gardner

Brett made this set because of his great story. He was not picked by the coach at the walk on tryouts at the College of Charleston. He came the next day in his high school uniform refusing to be told no. The coach let him practice with the team, and he eventually started for three seasons. The fact that he was not even thought of as a walk on while at a small school makes the fact that he made the big leagues that much better.

This picture was taken last August as Brett was standing on second at the Cell. I liked the way he was standing on the base while a meeting on the mound was going on. I love action shots, but sometimes good pictures for cards come from the moments when nothing is going on.

2 responses

  1. That’s not Gardner-it’s Francisco Cervelli.

    March 31, 2011 at 9:48 am

    • The guy who always complains about errors on cards makes a big one here. If I had even looked at the picture before it I would have seen that it was Cervelli as he was catching wearing the exact same thing. Or if I had looked at a picture of Gardner. He looks nothing like this. Good eye, and yet another error for me. That is why all the cards in my set this year will be made using pictures taken this year. I am sure that I will screw something up even then.

      April 2, 2011 at 8:46 pm

Leave a Reply

