merging my pictures and cards

2011 csd Preview – Harold Baines

Since I am on the topic of first base coaches I might as well post my preview card of Harold. As a kid growing up I still remember the chants of ‘Harold’ that used to ring through old Comiskey. One of the highlights of the last decade was seeing Harold play again in a celebrity softball game at the Cell during All Star Weekend in 2003. The crowd chanted his name (although not as loudly as I remember it), and he obliged them by hitting a home run. He still had it in 2003.

This picture was taken in 2008 as Harold was coaching first base. For some reason Harold turned and looked my way. I took advantage of the opportunity to take a couple pictures of him. It is not everyday that you can see a guy who had his number retired after all. Of the Baines rookies for the back I chose the inaugural Fleer card. Something about it has always appealed to me. Maybe it is the fro out in full form, or maybe it is the fact that I have never gotten my hands on this card.

Leave a Reply

