merging my pictures and cards

1985 Topps 25th Anniversary – Carlton Fisk

As I have said in previous posts this set was meant to commemorate the 25th anniversary of my first Major League game. I celebrated that all last season using it as an excuse to go to many games. That is how this whole custom card thing got started as well. I was just messing around putting my pictures on the ’85 Topps template, and it just took off from there. Of course in coming up with a 25 card set for my 25th anniversary I had to include Carlton Fisk. I met him along with Richard Dotson during that first game, and Fisk has been my favorite player ever since. I didn’t know that he would be a Hall of Famer then. I just knew that he was this cool guy who talked to me and signed my program.

I took this picture a couple of days after my 25th anniversary when Carlton was in town for Frank Thomas day. That was a pretty cool day because many Sox players from the last 25 years came back to help honor Frank. It was almost as if they were doing it for me. I get way too into these things, but that is part of what makes baseball so great.

Leave a Reply

