merging my pictures and cards

1988 Score – Jose Contreras

Here is yet another former Sox player on the ’88 Score card. I was never as big of  a fan of Jose as I should have been until he was sent down to Charlotte in 2009. I am a big Mark Buehrle fan so I was always upset that Jose was getting more of the prime starts than Mark. Of course Jose deserved them, but that doesn’t matter when you are a fan. I met Jose when he was playing for Charlotte, and he actually initiated the conversation. He pointed at my ball and asked me if I wanted his autograph. I had me back to him initially, but he must have assumed we were all waiting for him. He was so cool that I hoped he would make it back up to the big club soon.

He pitched well enough to get called back up, and the above picture was taken after his call up. The Sox had a special ceremony prior to a game to honor Mark Buehrle so I found some empty seats with a good view of the pregame festivities. When the game started nobody had claimed them so I stayed where I was. I took this picture of Jose from those seats. Of course in the middle of the third some guy came to claim his seat, and was upset I was in it. I did get to see a third of the game from a seat much closer to the action than my seat in the upper deck. If you come to the game when it is 1/3 of the way over don’t be upset when someone is in your seat.

Leave a Reply

