merging my pictures and cards

1989 Upper Deck – Mike Rohde

Saturation Saturday continues with this card of Mike Rohde. Mike is the first baseman for the Gary SouthShore Railcats of the American Association. I go to a few games each year in Gary so I thought I might try a couple of their players to see how it looked. I love this picture of Mike sliding into home on Opening Day. Just the way he is making sure he touches the plate. Part of the fun of attending these smaller games is the fact you can get a little closer to the action for a lower price.

As I said above the picture was taken on Opening Day for the Northern League. As it turns out it was the last Opening Day the Railcats would play for the Northern League. They have since moved to the American Association. Usually plays at the plate are blocked by the umpire for me. For once I had a clean shot at the play, and got lucky with a nice picture.

Leave a Reply

