merging my pictures and cards

1985 Topps 25th Anniversary – Minnie Minoso

Yesterday the White Sox website had a great article on Minnie. I knew most of what was in the article because he was my father’s favorite player. He is still mad about the 1951 Rookie of the Year voting 60 years later. He has a clipping showing the stats of both Minnie, and Gil McDougald who won the award. Minnie beat him in every category besides home runs and playing in New York. Minnie was the first African American to play for the Sox, but has become much more than that over the years. He is still with the team as a goodwill ambassador, and is a very nice guy. I thought it would be great to release the special card I made of him after reading the article. Bill James the renowned stat guru had Minnie as the 10th best left fielder of all time when everything is considered. Reading that you wonder how he never got close to the Hall of Fame. You need 75% to get in, and Minnie never received better than 21.9 percent of the vote. Open your eyes voters! There has to be a way to get him in the hall.

This picture was taken last August on Frank Thomas day as Minnie was talking with the fans in the Scout Seats behind home plate. I really wanted a picture of him, but he never seemed to turn my way. This was the best that I could do. I thought it would also be cool to get a picture of Minnie with my favorite player Carlton Fisk. They never got close enough to even fake a picture. Someday I think that would be a great picture. Both my father and my favorite players side by side.

Leave a Reply

