merging my pictures and cards

1985 Topps – Ron Kittle (25th Anniversary Edition)

Here is the second card in the special subset  I created. As I said in an earlier post I wanted to make a set that commemorated the 25th anniversary of my first ballgame. I will always remember the original 1985 Topps card of Ron Kittle because the picture was taken at night. For some reason I always liked the card, and I eventually figures out that the way the lights bounced off his helmet looked pretty cool. That is one of my favorite cards from my childhood.

This picture of Ron was taken last August on Frank Thomas Day at the Cell. Ron was standing in a line with other former 80’s Sox stars Harold Baines and Carlton Fisk. The Harold Baines card that will eventually come out was actually made from the same picture as this one. I thought that it would be cool to have the current Sox stars in this set, but also to have some of the guys that were playing back in 1985 when I saw my first game. For them to be back that weekend 25 years later was pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

