merging my pictures and cards

1987 Topps – Joakim Soria

I like the picture for this card, and knew what I was going to do with it once I first saw it. I didn’t think that it would take this long for it to appear on a card though. In July I saw the Royals play at the Cell for the second time last year. During batting practice I made a point to find Joakim Soria who I did not see the first time. I wanted to get a couple pictures for cards, but as with most players during bp all you see are their backs. By the time I was done I had a few good pictures of the closer including this one.

During bp a ball was hit over Soria’s shoulder and he took off to get it. I snapped this picture as he was tracking the ball down. During that bp session Joakim was having a blast with his teammates. That is what the game should be about. From just a few minutes watching him in the outfield he became a favorite opposing player to watch. Normally the closers don’t move during batting practice. They just stand in the same spot in the outfield. Soria looked as though he was really enjoying shagging the fly balls. I might have to make another Royals game this season to see if that was a fluke or not.

2 responses

  1. That is awesome! Soria is my favorite player, and I enjoyed the story. Gonna save this one off on my computer!

    February 19, 2011 at 11:21 am

    • Soria really went up a lot in my book just watching him out there. He does not act like a huge star for sure. Whenever I see that I really take a liking to the player. I have a couple more cards of Soria that I plan on doing. I took a few pictures that day.

      February 19, 2011 at 2:45 pm

Leave a Reply

