merging my pictures and cards

1962 Topps – Lucas Harrell

Yesterday I picked up my first packs of 2011 Topps. In the course of opening them I found two of the 1962 Topps reprints of Gaylord Perry. I wasn’t too excited about the player, but it did give me an idea to try and reproduce the card. I found a picture of the Josh Hamilton Topps Heritage card and doctored it up a bit. The hardest part was taking off the writing on the bottom. Actually the hardest part was trying to to get the wood back to a point where it looks like it belongs. After several failed attempts I got something that i could live with. I really like how the cards looked back then, and I am glad that I now have a template to make some more.

This picture of Lucas was taken on my birthday last season as he was throwing in the bullpen. I had the picture set aside to put on a card, and I thought it would work good here. After I put it on the card I realized that I was right. I know that it really doesn’t go with how the cards looked back then, but it looks good on the card.

Leave a Reply

