merging my pictures and cards

1985 Topps – Vida Blue

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about some of the players I was able to meet thanks to Bob Feller. One of the coolest of those guys was Vida Blue. Vida really took the time out to make each fan feel welcome. He even posed for this picture with me. I am not famous so I was cut out of the shot for the purposes of this card.

Vida was one of those players that was very good, but maybe not great. He has very good numbers for his career, but probably not good enough for the Hall of Fame. When I was a kid I remember picking up a bunch of Vida’s cards cheap at a local drugstore thinking that they would skyrocket in value someday. Of course I knew who Vida was, but I guess the rest of the card community did not care because the cards never really went up how I thought that they would. I was still happy to meet him in person though regardless of what his cards did.

Leave a Reply

