merging my pictures and cards

Ken Griffey Jr.


Sadly Ken Griffey Jr. hung his spikes up today after 22 seasons. It is odd that he would quit on a day 75 years after the retirement of Babe Ruth, and on the exact date that he was drafted #1 overall in 1987. The card for his draft choice can be found here.  I was going to wait and post this card after the Mariners came to town in July. I thought that maybe I could get a better picture of ‘the kid’ to put on the card. Sadly though this is my best picture of Ken in a Mariners uniform. Griffey was a huge part of my collecting life when it was at its peak. It is a sad day for sure.

As I said earlier this was the best picture I have of Griffey in a Mariners uniform. I really wanted to get a better picture of him, but that will not be now. The picture was taken last season during the Mariners doubleheader against the White Sox. Griffey played in game one against Bartolo Colon, but got the nightcap off with Jon Danks on the mound.

One response

  1. Pingback: Ken Griffey Jr. – SP « csd's Custom Cards

Leave a Reply

