merging my pictures and cards

Ken Griffey Jr. – SP

I just made this card last night. I found the picture, and thought that it would make a great extra card for the set. I planned on releasing it later, but as with the other Griffey cards today’s events have changed things a little. Ken really seemed to have fun playing the game, and if it was not fun for him anymore I don’t fault him at all for hanging up his spikes.While his time in Chicago was short I will always be thankful that I was able to see him play in person. In about 5 1/2 years we will see Griffey in Cooperstown. If he is not a first ballot choice we need to re figure the balloting process. This will be the fourth Griffey card in the set. He has a #1 draft pick card, his regular issue Mariner card, this short print, and his famous lineage card. Maybe I can follow the lead of 1985 Topps and give the kid an All Star card. It would be fitting that he has more cards in the set than anyone else.

This picture was taken during game 162 in 2008. Ken was pulled late in the game for Brian Anderson, but he did flash his glove in the early parts of that 1-0 victory. I loved the original picture of Ken in the outfield with the murals of White Sox greats behind him. When I have kids I will explain to them how the kid patrolled the outfield.

Leave a Reply

