merging my pictures and cards

Kyle Gaedele: Famous Lineage


Here is the first of the cards that stretch the father/son concept that Topps came up with. Kyle Gaedele plays for the Valparaiso Crusaders. His great uncle  is former St. Louis Brown Eddie Gaedel. I really wanted to make this card sooner, but could not find a good card of Gaedel. All of them were very modern looking, and I did not want that. I figured I could wait and see if I could find anything else. My prayers were answered this morning when Steve at White Sox Cards posted another in his series of cards that never were. It was a 1951 Gaedel. That was exactly what I was looking for! So after gaining permission to use the card I finally had what should have been the first in this famous lineage series.  This was my first post on the subject on my site Confession of a Sports Junkie. If you want to learn a little more on the link between the two here is the original post.

On to the picture. I already told you that the Eddie Gaedel card came from White Sox Cards. He does a great job with the Cards That Never Were set. The picture of Kyle was taken on May 8th when his team was playing the Butler Bulldogs. He was pitching in the 10th inning of that game. He would go on to get the loss when Butler scored the go ahead run. I cannot get a head shot of every player for this series to make it like the original 1985 Topps. I have to settle for cropping a previous shot to get as close as I can. For the most part it does not turn out to bad. So to conclude I made a fake card using a cropped picture and inserting another fake card. Now we are getting out there.

2 responses

  1. It turned out great!

    May 20, 2010 at 10:49 am

    • csd7227

      Thanks

      May 21, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Leave a Reply

